Skip to Content
Online Services | Agencies | Governor | Help
Search Virginia.Gov
Skip Navigation  |  Intranet  |  Contact SCHEV    
> Overview
> Staff
> Calendar
> Careers
> Directions
> Newsroom
> Members
> Contact Council
> Meetings & Agendas
> Presentations
> Policy Discussions
> Advisory Committees
> Preparing for College
> List of Colleges
> Publications
> GEAR UP
> I Am the One
> Degree Inventory
> Transfer Tool
> Graduate Programs
> Adult Education Programs
> Student Complaint Process
> Financial Aid Overview
> Undergraduate
> Graduate
> Academic Common Market
> Domicile Information
> Blog
> Legislative Overview
> Higher Education Legislation
> Legislative Liaisons
> Code of Virginia
> Higher Ed Overview
> Boards of Visitors
> College Access Grant
> Military Education
> No Child Left Behind
> Outstanding Faculty Awards
> P.O.P.E
> Virginia SARA
> State Education Agencies

Library Advisory Committee (LAC)

Public Institutional Representatives

Chair
*Ms. Suzy Szasz Palmer  (Chair Term expires 6/30/15)
Dean of the Library
Longwood University
Janet D. Greenwood Library
201 High Street
Farmville, VA 23909-1897
Ph: (434) 395-2083
Email: palmerss@longwood.edu

Mr. Kyle McCarrell
Head Librarian
Blue Ridge Community College
Houff Library
P.O. Box 80
Weyers Cave, VA 24486-0080
Ph: (540) 453-2269
Fax: (540) 234-9568
Email: McCarrellK@brcc.edu

Ms. Mary Sellen
University Librarian
Christopher Newport University
Paul and Rosemary Trible Library
1 Avenue of the Arts
Newport News, VA 23606
Ph: (757) 594-7130
Fax: (757) 594-7717
Email: mary.sellen@cnu.edu

*Ms. Carrie Cooper
Dean of University Libraries
College of William and Mary
Earl Gregg Swem Library
P.O. Box 8794
Williamsburg, VA 23187
Ph:(757) 221-3055
Email: clcooper@wm.edu

*Mr. John Zenelis
Dean of University Libraries and University Librarian
George Mason University
Fenwick Library
MSN 2FL
Fairfax, VA 22030-4444
Ph: (703) 993-2491
Email: jzenelis@gmu.edu

*Mr. Ralph Alberico
Dean of Libraries and Educational Technologies
James Madison University
JMU Libraries
MSC 1704
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Ph: (540) 568-3828
Fax: (540) 568-6339
Email: alberira@jmu.edu

Mr. David Gray
Director of Learning Resources
Lord Fairfax Community College
Paul Wolk Library
173 Skirmisher Lane
Middletown, VA 22645-1745
Ph:(540) 868-7154
Email: dgray@lfcc.edu

Ms. C. Lynne Harrison
Coordinator of Technical Services
Norfolk State University
Lyman Beecher Brooks Library
700 Park Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504-8010
Ph: (757)-823-2422
Email: clharrison@nsu.edu

*Ms. Ruth Stanton
Dean, Learning & Technology Resources
Northern Virginia Community College
Medical Education Library
6699 Springfield Center Drive
Springfield, VA 22150-1913
Ph: (703) 822-6679
Email: rstanton@nvcc.edu

*Mr. George Fowler
Interim University Librarian
Old Dominion University
Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd
Norfolk, VA 23529-0256
Ph: (757) 683-5904
Email: gfowler@odu.edu

*Mr. Steven Helm
Dean of the Library
Radford University
McConnell Library
P.O. Box 6881
Radford, VA 24142
Ph: (540) 831-6624
Email: shelm@radford.edu

Ms. Aimee Joyaux
Director of Instructional Resources & Emerging Technologies
Richard Bland College
Richard Bland College Library
8311 Halifax Road
Petersburg, VA 23805
Ph: (804) 862-6227
Email: ajoyaux@rbc.edu

Mr. Steven Litherland
Library Coordinator
TCC Library at the Chesapeake Campus
Tidewater Community College
1428 Cedar Road
Chesapeake, VA 23322
Ph: (757) 822-1944
Email: slitherland@tcc.edu

*Ms. Rosemary Arneson
University Librarian
University of Mary Washington
Simpson Library
1801 College Avenue
Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4664
Ph: (540) 654-1147
Email: rarneso3@umw.edu

*Ms. Carla Lee
Director, Collection Initiatives
University of Virginia
Alderman Library
P.O. Box 400114
Charlottesville, VA 22904-0114
Ph: (434) 243-2390
Fax: (434) 924-1431
Email: cl9eb@virginia.edu


Mr. Robin Benke
Director of Library Services
University of Virginia's College at Wise
John Cook Wyllie Library
One College Avenue
Wise, VA 24293
Ph: (276) 328-0150
Fax: (276) 328-0105
Email: rpb@uvawise.edu

*Mr. John Ulmschneider
University Librarian
Virginia Commonwealth University
VCU Libraries
P.O. Box 842033
Richmond, VA 23284-2033
Ph: (804) 828-1105
Fax: (804) 828-0151
Email: john_ulmschneider@vcu.edu

Mr. Don Samdahl
Head Librarian
Virginia Military Institute
JTL Preston Library
345 Letcher Ave.
Lexington, VA 24450
Ph: (540) 464-7228
Fax: (540) 464-7279
Email: samdahldh@vmi.edu

Dr. Elsie Weatherington
Dean, University Library
Virginia State University
Johnston Memorial Library
P.O Box 9406
Petersburg, VA 23806
Ph: (804) 524-5040
Fax: (804) 524-6959
Email: eweatherington@vsu.edu

*Dr. Tyler Walters
Dean of University Libraries
Virginia Tech
University Libraries
P.O. Box 90001
Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001
Ph: (540) 231-5595
Email: tyler.walters@vt.edu

Private Institutional Representatives

Mr. Andrew Pearson
Library Director
Bridgewater College
Alexander Mack Memorial Library
402 East College Street
Bridgewater, VA 22812
Ph: (540) 828-5410
Email: apearson@bridgewater.edu

*Dr. Cy Dillon
Library Director
Hampden-Sydney College
Bortz Library
HSC Box 7
Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943-0007
Ph: (434) 223-6197
Email: cdillon@hsc.edu

Ms. Carol Creager
Director
Mary Baldwin College
Martha S. Grafton Library
109 E Frederick Street
Staunton, VA 24401
Ph: (540) 887-7310
Fax: (540) 887-7297
Email: ccreager@mbc.edu

*Dr. John Jaffe
Director of Integrated Information Systems/CIO
Sweet Briar College
Mary Helen Cochran Library
134 Chapel Road
Sweet Briar, VA 24595
Ph: (434) 381-6139
Fax: (434) 381-6173
Email: jgjaffe@sbc.edu

Administrative Representatives

Ms. Beverly Covington
Policy Analyst for Academic Affairs and Planning
State Council of Higher Education
101 N. 14th St.
Richmond, VA 23219
Ph: (804) 371-0571
Email: beverlycovington@schev.edu

*Mr. Gene Damon
Director of Library Automation & Learning Resource
Virginia Community College System
James Monroe Building
101 North 14th Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Ph: (804) 819-4981
Fax: (804) 819-4773
Email: gdamon@vccs.edu

*Ms. Sharon Gasser
Assoc Dean, Libraries & Educational Technologies
James Madison University
JMU Libraries
MSC 1704
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Ph: (540) 568-6160
Email: gasserss@jmu.edu

*Ms. Katherine Perry
VIVA Director
Virtual Library of Virginia
George Mason University - Arlington Campus Library
Virtual Library of Virginia
3351 Fairfax Drive - MSN 1D1
Arlington, VA 22201
Ph: (703) 993-4654
Fax: (703) 993-4662
Email: kperry@gmu.edu

Dr. Sandra Treadway
Librarian of Virginia
Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219-8000
Ph: (804) 692-3535
Fax: (804) 692-3594
Email: sandra.treadway@lva.virginia.gov

* Member of VIVA Steering Committee