State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

Calendar | Careers | Directory | Intranet |  Webmail    

Outstanding Faculty Awards

Outstanding Faculty Awards

Outstanding Faculty Awards Section

The Outstanding Faculty Awards are the Commonwealth's highest honor for faculty at Virginia's public and private colleges and universities. These awards recognize superior accomplishments in teaching, research, and public service.

2017 Outstanding Faculty Awards Recipients 

The State Council of Higher Education and Dominion Resources announce the recipients of the 2017 Outstanding Faculty Awards.

Since 1987, these awards have recognized faculty at Virginia’s institutions of higher learning who exemplify the highest standards of teaching, research and service. 

Nominees are selected by the institutions, reviewed by a panel of peers and chosen by a final selection committee. In all, 97 nominations were received this year, slightly more than last year. This was narrowed to a field of 28 finalists and then to the 12 recipients.

Recipients come from institutions large and small throughout the Commonwealth and from two- and four-year institutions, private and public. Their fields of expertise range from physics to communications. They have in common, however, the qualities honored by the Outstanding Faculty Awards: the highest level of scholarship, teaching, mentoring, public service and research. 

The full list of 2017 recipients can be seen here. 

2016 Recipients

Jacqueline Bixler

Jacqueline Bixler

Virginia Tech

John David

John David

Virginia Military Institute
Rising Star


April Hill

University of Richmond


Michael Hochella, Jr. 
Virginia Tech


William Hughes

James Madison University


Charles Hyde

Old Dominion University


Jennifer Kahn

College of William & Mary
Rising Star


James Kirkwood

Sweet Briar College


Sabita Manian

Lynchburg College


Jonathan Noyalas
Lord Fairfax Community College


Lawrence Schwartz
Virginia Commonwealth University


John Swaddle
College of William and Mary


Everett Worthington
Virginia Commonwealth University

Additional resources: 

OFA Workshop Video

OFA Workshop Video

An Outstanding Faculty Award Workshop was hosted by SCHEV on April 14, 2015 to provide information and advice to institutions regarding how to prepare nomination packages.  SCHEV staff provided an overview of the award timeline, process and substantive criteria. This was followed by panel discussions that highlighted successful practices for preparing nomination packages and provided advice from reviewers and recent award recipients. The YouTube video is a 30-minute condensation of the most captivating moments of the three-hour event.    

Here is a breakdown of the segments and location in the video:

  • Introduction by SCHEV Director, Peter Blake (0:00).
  • Explanation of how review panels are selected by Beverly Covington, coordinator of the OFA selection process (1:12).
  • Review of Boyer’s Principles of Scholarship, including how to demonstrate the award criteria within a nomination package, by Joe DeFilippo, Director of Academic Affairs and Planning.  (2:30).
  • Panel on Preparing OFA Nomination Packages (8:00):
  • Panel on Perspectives of Peer and Final Reviewers (17:00)
  • Panel on Reflections from Recent Award Recipients (22:40)
  • Wrap-Up (28:00)

© 2016 State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 10th Floor  |  James Monroe Building   |  Richmond, VA 23219