Need vaccine? Learn how to get your shot at or call 1-877-VAX-IN VA Mon. - Fri. 8am - 5pm. Language translation available.  Virginia Relay users dial 7-1-1.

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia Skip Nav  |  HOME Calendar |  Directory  |  Intranet  |  Webmail     

Amid the coronavirus outbreak, SCHEV is exercising caution to protect employees and the public.
We are primarily communicating via email, telephone or video conference. Please be safe, be informed and be well.

Library Advisory Committee (LAC)

* Member of VIVA Steering Committee

LAC Contact List

  • Public Institutional Representatives

    LAC members listed in order of Public Institutions
     Name  Institution  Contact Information
    Dr. Brent Roberts
    Dean of the Library 
    Longwood University
    Janet D. Greenwood Library
    201 High Street
    Farmville, VA 23909-1897
    Ph: (434) 395-2083

    Ms. Mary Sellen
    University Librarian 
    Christopher Newport University
    Paul and Rosemary Trible Library
    1 Avenue of the Arts
    Newport News, VA 23606 
    Ph: (757) 594-7130
    Fax: (757) 594-7717
    * Ms. Carrie Cooper
    Dean of University Libraries
    College of William and Mary
    Earl Gregg Swem Library
    P.O. Box 8794
    Williamsburg, VA 23187
    Ph:(757) 221-3055
    * Mr. John Zenelis
    Dean of University Libraries
    and University Librarian
    George Mason University
    Fenwick Library
    MSN 2FL
    Fairfax, VA 22030-4444 
    Ph: (703) 993-2491
    Dr. Bethany Nowviskie
    Dean of Libraries
    James Madison University
    JMU Libraries
    MSC 1703
    Harrisonburg, VA 22807
    Ph: (540) 568-5382
    Ms.Hong Wu
    Director of Library, Information Services & Academic Support
    J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College
    Massey LTC - 103
    1651 E. Parham. Rd., Richmond, VA 23228
    Ph: 804-523-5324
    Mr. Donald L. Essex
    Dean of the  Library
    Norfolk State University
    Lyman Beecher Brooks Library 
    700 Park Avenue
    Norfolk, VA 23504-8010
    Ph: (757) 823-9153
    Mr. Matt Todd
    Dean of Libraries 
    Northern Virginia Community College
    3922 Pender Dr. #108
    Fairfax, VA 22030
    Ph: (703) 845-6033
    Mr. Stuart Frazer
    Interim University Librarian
    Old Dominion University
    Perry Library
    4427 Hampton Blvd
    Norfolk, VA 23529-0256
    Ph: (757) 683-4143
    Ms. Cirrus Gundlach
    Coordinator of Library Services
    P.D. Camp Community College
    271 Kenyon Rd. 
    Suffolks, VA 23434 
    Ph: (757) 925-6339
    Mr. Paul Orkiszewski
    Dean of the Libraries
    Radford University
    McConnell Library
    P.O. Box 6881
    Radford, VA 24142
    Ph: (540) 831-5471
    Ms. Elizabeth Hadley
    Coord. of Learning Resource Centers, RCC and Library Dir., Richmond County Public Library
    Rappahannock Community College
    52 Campus Drive
    Warsaw, VA 22572
    Ph: (804) 333-6715
    Mr. Tim Hurley
    Head Librarian
    Richard Bland College Ph: (804) 862-8530
    *Mr. Steven Litherland
    Associate V.P. for Libraries 
    Tidewater Community College
    121 College Place
    Norfolks, VA 23510 
    Ph: (757) 822-1944 
    Ms. Carolyn Parsons
    Interim University Librarian
    University of Mary Washington
    Simpson Library
    1801 College Avenue
    Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4664 
    Ph: (540) 654-1147
    * Dr. John Unsworth
    University Librarian and Dean of Libraries
    University of Virginia
    P.O. Box 400113
    Charlottesville, VA 22904-0113
    Ph: (434) 924-7849
    Ms. Angela Harvey
    Assistant Director for Public Services
    University of Virginia's College at Wise
    John Cook Wyllie Library
    One College Avenue
    Wise, VA 24293
    Ph: (276) 328-0159
    Dr. Irene Herold
    Dean of Libraries and University Librarian
    Virginia Commonwealth University
    VCU Libraries
    P.O. Box 842033
    Richmond, VA 23284-2033 
    Mr. Pongrácz Sennyey
    Library Director
    Virginia Military Institute
    JTL Preston Library
    345 Letcher Ave.
    Lexington, VA 24450
    Ph: (540) 464-7573
    Fax: (540) 464-7279
    Ms. V. Tessa Perry
    Associate Librarian for Technical Services
    Virginia State University
    Johnston Memorial Library
    P.O Box 9406
    Petersburg, VA 23806
    Ph: (804) 524-5580
    Fax: (804) 524-6959
     * Dr. Tyler Walters 
    Dean of University Libraries
     Virginia Tech
    University Libraries
    P.O. Box 90001
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001
     Ph: (540) 231-5595
  • Private Institutional Representatives

    LAC members listed in order of Private Institutions
     Name  Institution  Contact
    Mr. Andrew Pearson
    Director of the Forrer Learning Commons
    Bridgewater College
    402 East College St
    Bridgewater, VA 22812
    Ph: (540) 828-5410
    Ms. Carol Creager
    Mary Baldwin College
    Martha S. Grafton Library
    109 E Frederick Street
    Staunton, VA 24401
    Ph: (540) 887-7310
    Fax: (540) 887-7297
    Ms. Elizabeth G. McClenney
    VICULA Chair
    Directory of the Library
    Roanoke College

    21 College Lane
    Salem, VA 24153

     Ph: (540) 375-2508
    Mr. Kevin Butterfield
    University Librarian
    University of Richmond

    Boatwright Memorial Library
    28 Westhampton Way
    University of Richmond, VA 23173

     Ph: (804) 289-8456

  • Administrative Representatives

    LAC administrative member information
     Name  Institution  Contact
    Ms. Beverly Rebar
    Senior Associate for Academic and Legislative Affairs 
    State Council of Higher Education
    101 N. 14th St.
    Richmond, VA 23219 
    Ph: (804) 371-0571
    * Ms. Tara Cassidy
    Director of Library Services  
    Virginia Community College System
    Arboretum III
    300 Arboretum Place, Suite 200
    Richmond, VA 23216 
    Ph: (804) 819-4976
    * Ms. Anne C. Osterman
    VIVA Director
    Virtual Library of Virginia
    George Mason University
    4400 University Drive - MSN 2FL
    Fairfax, VA 22030
    Ph: (703) 993-4652
    Fax: (703) 993-4662
    Dr. Sandra Treadway
    Librarian of Virginia 
    Library of Virginia
    800 East Broad Street
    Richmond, VA 23219-8000 
    Ph: (804) 692-3535
    Fax: (804) 692-3594
  • Ex Officio

    LAC Ex-Officio members
     Name  Institution  Contact
    * Ms. Sue Erickson

    Library Director
    Virginia Wesleyan University
    5817 Wesleyan Drive
    Virginia Beach, VA 23455
     Ph: (757)455-3220
    * Ms. Crystal Newell
    Coordinator of Library Services
    Piedmont Virginia Community College
    Betty Sue Jessup Library
    501 College Drive
    Charlottesville, VA 22902
    Ph: (434) 961-5339
    * Mr. Luke Vilelle
    University Librarian
    Hollins University
    Wyndham Robertson Library
    7950 E. Campus Drive
    Roanoke, VA 24020
    Ph: (540) 362-6232

SCHEV values honesty, quality, diversity, inclusion, growth-orientation, personal well-being, equity, transparency and accountability.
Through these values, we create a welcoming work environment that represents the best of who we are as an agency and as individuals.

© 2020 State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 10th Floor  |  James Monroe Building   |  Richmond, VA 23219

If you wish to receive this content in an accessible format per Section 508 of the federal Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C § 794 (d), please call 804-225-2600.

For technical Issues with site, contact webmaster